Happy Valentines Day, Don’t Forget my “Giri Choco” ハッピーバレンタインズデー!私への義理チョコを忘れずに。

Post by Kevin Cozma for 高松市英会話 ケビンズイングリッシュハウス

Even though it is a little early, I wanted to wish everyone a happy Valentine’s Day.  At the same time, I would like to mention briefly how this holiday is different in Japan and Canada, and recall an episode of culture shock from when I first arrived in Japan.

少し早いのですが、皆さんにハッピー・バレンタインズデー!同時に、このホリデーが日本とカナダでどのように違っているのかについて簡単にお伝えしたいと思います。これは、私が初めて日本に来たときに受けたカルチャーショックの中のエピソードの1つなのですが・・・。

First, the difference.  In Canada, boys and girls usually exchange Valentine’s cards at school.  For young adults, and adults, it is a day to spend with a boyfriend/girlfriend, or spouse.  They might exchange cards, go on a date, or exchange presents.  These activities are only done with one special person, the person with whom you are dating or are married to.  This last detail is what led to my culture shock.

まず初めに、違いについて。カナダでは、ふつう男の子と女の子が学校でバレンタインのカードを交換します。10代後半の男女や大人にとっては、この日は彼氏や彼女と、又は夫や妻と一緒に過ごす日になります。カードを交換することもあるし、デートに出かけたり、プレゼントを交換したりします。こういったアクティビティは、1人の特別な人-つまりその時点で付き合っている相手や又は結婚している相手とだけ行います。そしてここの部分が私のカルチャーショックの原因になるのです・・・。

My first Valentine’s Day in Japan was a memorable one indeed.  I was teaching at an English conversation school named GEOS.  Most of my students were adults.  Well, the week of Valentine’s Day, I started getting lots of chocolates from my female students; not all of them, but quite a few.  I was flattered and happy, yet confused.  Did all of these women have a crush on me?  Did they think we were dating, or more than friends?  If I looked like Tom Cruise or Brad Pitt, this might have been possible, but I’m just Kevin Cozma.  I remember actually being worried about receiving so many chocolates, so I talked to my co-worker, Mie.  About halfway through my explanation, she burst out into laughter.  She explained to me that those are “giri choco”, which basically means they were giving them because they had to.  It turns out that unlike in Canada, in Japan, females give chocolates to male acquaintances whether they like them or not.  One way of translating “giri choco” is “obligation chocolates”

私の日本で初めてのバレンタインデーは実に記憶に残るものとなりました。当時私はジオスという英会話学校で教えていました。私の生徒のほとんどは大人でした。バレンタインデーのその週、私は女性の生徒(全員からではありませんでしたが、かなりの数の生徒)からたくさんのチョコレートをもらい始めました。私は光栄に思い嬉しかったのですが、混乱しました。「この人たちは全員、私に夢中になっているのだろうか?」「彼女たちは、私が皆と付き合っているとか、友達以上の付き合いだと思っているのだろうか?」もし私がトム・クルーズやブラッド・ピット似であればあり得るかも知れませんが、私はただのケビン・カズマです。あまりにも多くのチョコレートをもらって心配になってきた私は、同僚のミエ先生に話をしました。私の説明が半分くらい終わったところで、彼女は突然笑い出しました。彼女は私に、それらは全部”義理チョコ”だと説明してくれました。そして義理チョコというのは、そうしなければならないので渡すチョコレートということだったのです。カナダとは違って、日本では、女性は好きかどうかにかかわらず知り合いの男性にチョコレートを渡すものだと判明しました。”義理チョコ”の英語訳の1つは”obligation chocolate”です。

Well, I was relieved that all of those ladies didn’t have a crush on me, or think we were dating.  Of course, at the same time, I was sad that they didn’t have a crush on me, or think we were dating.  For a few days there, I thought I was Kevin the Heartbreaker.  Yeah, silly story… but true.

でも、私はあの生徒たちが全員私に夢中になっていなくて、それに私と付き合っていると思っていなくて安心しました。もちろん、それと同時に、彼女たちが私に夢中になっていたのではなく、私と付き合っていると思っていたのでもないと分かって、悲しい気分にもなりましたが・・・。その当時の数日間、私は自分がHeartbreaker(人の心を痛ませる人)だと思っていたのです。馬鹿な話だと思うでしょう?でも本当なのです。

By the way, I want to say thanks to my Japanese language classmate Bernie for suggesting I write something about Valentine’s Day.

ところで最後に、私の日本語のレッスンのクラスメートのバーニーさんに、バレンタインデーのことについてブログを書いてみたらと勧めてもらったことに対してお礼を言いたいと思います。ありがとう!

Cheers,

それではまた。

Kev

Happy Valentines Day, Don’t Forget my “Giri Choco” ハッピーバレンタインズデー!私への義理チョコを忘れずに。」への4件のフィードバック

  1. aquaking の発言:

    It is regrettable (# ^. ^ #). I think from a Japanese point of view, it was good just get the chocolate. I also want chocolate.

  2. In Japan,the culture is chaging.
    The culture was only for women to give, I think.
    A woman gave chocolates to a man who she loved.
    But now, one fifth of boys will give chocolates.
    I was surprised when I heard that,
    but I am not going to do that.kkkk

コメントを残す

